The nominations have been made for the Horse Racing Ireland Awards.

There are 35 nominees from across the Irish racing industry this year, an increase of nine compared to last year.

The 2019 Ride of the Year contenders will be chosen by Pat Smullen and Barry Geraghty and announced next week. A public vote will decide the winner.

The six nominations for Horse of the Year are dual Aintree Grand National winner Tiger Roll, Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Al Boum Photo, Kemboy, successful at the Aintree and Punchestown festivals, three-time Hatton’s Grace winner Apple’s Jade and multiple Group 1 winners on the Flat, Magical and Iridessa.

Trainers Willie Mullins, Gordon Elliott and Henry De Bromhead and jockeys Rachael Blackmore and Paul Townend are nominated in the National Hunt Award category. The Flat Award nominees are trainers Aidan O’Brien, Jessica Harrington, Ger Lyons and Joseph O’Brien and jockeys Donnacha O’Brien and Colin Keane.


No votes yet.
Please wait...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here