Alex Albon lost control turning left to head up the hill into Juncao, but lost control and went onto the barriers during Practice One of the Brazilian GP.

Alex Albon set the pace for Red Bull in a wet first practice for the Brazilian GP — before crashing out after a frenetic end to the rain-affected session.

Heavy showers at Interlagos meant running was limited to open the weekend, although most of the leading drivers posted competitive laps on intermediate tyres as the track started to dry.

  • Martin Brundle drives Senna’s MP4/4

Albon was fastest with a 1:16.142, half a second faster than Valtteri Bottas, with Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc third and fourth.

With conditions improving, drivers even felt comfortable enough to head out on slick tyres — although the action halted soon after they exited the pits.

Max Verstappen first span in the Red Bull, before team-mate Albon — who comes into the weekend with a new contract for 2020 — lost control of his car and shunted into the wall near the final corner.

That crash caused a red flag, bringing an end to P1.

Red Bull, meanwhile, have a rebuild on their hands ahead of second practice at 6pm.

Lewis Hamilton, F1’s new six-time world champion, didn’t post a time in the session as Mercedes opted to save themselves and their tyres for what should be a drier rest of the weekend.

Verstappen also didn’t get a time on the board.

0:58 Max Verstappen went off the track at Turn 3 during first practice ahead of the Brazilian Grand Prix.

With those two off the timesheet, fifth was up for grabs and filled by Carlos Sainz who, as has been regular in recent weeks, topped the midfield.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg and Daniel Ricciardo were just behind, ahead of the Toro Rossos and McLaren’s Carlos Sainz.

The rain also led to a frustrating session for Nicholas Latifi, who was replacing Robert Kubica in the Williams but didn’t get any dry running.

Brazilian GP Practice One Timesheet

Driver Team Time
1. Alexander Albon Red Bull 1:16.142
2. Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +0.551
3. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +0.899
4. Charles Leclerc Ferrari +1.143
5. Carlos Sainz McLaren +1.644
6. Nico Hulkenberg Renault +1.757
7. Daniel Ricciardo Renault +1.843
8. Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso +1.958
9. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso +2.132
10. Lando Norris McLaren +2.417
11. George Russell Williams +2.637
12. Kevin Magnussen Haas +3.105
13. Lance Stroll Racing Point +3.272
14. Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo +3.390
15. Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo +3.458
16. Nicholas Latifi Williams +3.868
17. Romain Grosjean Haas No time set
18. Sergio Perez Racing Point No time set
19. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes No time set
20. Max Verstappen Red Bull No time set

Don’t miss the rest of the Formula 1 season on Sky Sports F1. Find out more here to subscribe

Sourse: skysports.com

No votes yet.
Please wait...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here